REVIEW: Bad Memory by Lisa Gray

Rating: 4 Stars

SYNOPSIS:

Rue Hunter has spent 30 years convinced that she murdered her best friend and boyfriend because she can only remember flashes from that night. But now that her execution is only days away she is starting to have doubts. Jessica Shaw has been hired by Rue’s sister to determine what really happened on a night when the only known witness can’t remember a thing.

MY THOUGHTS:

I read this book without having read the first book in the series, but about halfway through this book I decided that I wanted to read the first book, and any subsequent ones. I also feel that even though I didn’t read the first book I was confused about very little in the story, and nothing relating to the main plot.

The main character, Jessica Shaw, is obviously flawed which makes her that much more relatable. I really liked seeing not only her character flaws but also her weaknesses, it was refreshing to have a main character who wasn’t perfect, and who accepted help.

The plot immediately sucked you in, and the resolution was something that you will never see coming, but which makes perfect sense once it is revealed. I dislike when authors add twists into their story that don’t fit with everything else that has happened, but that isn’t the case in this book.

My one problem with this book is that there was a second crime investigation going on at the same time as the main one, and at first they seemed unrelated and I was confused about why it was occurring. However, as you read the book all the pieces fall into place. In the beginning I was also confused about which character was offering their point of view and whether I was reading something from the past or present. but this also resolved itself as I continued reading and began to recognize the names of the characters.

Just like any other crime series, the plot is wrapped up nicely within this book, but there is promise for another book with another crime investigation which I look forward to.

**Thank you to NetGalley for providing this book for free in exchange for an honest review**

Leave a comment